Christmas Present: Crocheted Elephant Blanket

DSCN0062 DSCN0059 DSCN0060

 

I still need to finish blogging about my Christmas presents! Only one more after this one though. This elephant blanket was the biggest thing I worked for this last Christmas. I received plenty of help from the kitties, who had to make sure the ball of wool could still roll and often needed to check the softness of the blanket itself. Because of this, I had Hunter sitting on my lap all the time, and would have to move the whole blanket round as I needed to work on a new side. So this is a much loved blanket and I had plenty of company while I was putting it together.

The pattern itself if really simply. The blanket is one big granny square. Like this one:

images (3)

You just carry on round and round until it is the size you want. Also, I tend to do 3 chains in the corners of my squares. I prefer the chap. The elephants come from Crafter After Me’s Animal Afgan. The E is for Elephant pattern is really easy and soo cute when done. You can find it here. 

Very simple, fun project to keep me busy. Why elephant though? Cos my sister is absolutely elephant mad and I knew that this would be appreciated. A nice lap blanket for while she sits in her desk and studies (in her 4th year of studying now), and a good throw on her bed when she’s not. She even receive elephant pillows to go on her bed for Christmas, so she’s fully kitted out for the new year!

One comment

  1. […] yellow and purple blocks are just granny squares, so the same pattern that I shared for the Elephant Blanket applies. Then the butterflies are copied from the animal afgan patterns from Crafter After Me. You […]

Leave a Reply

