Christmas presents: Polymer clay beads

 

I decided to try making something a bit different for Christmas presents last year. So I did quite a bit of research and really liked the idea of polymer clay, and I found a great Youtube tutorial as well:

 

I used the basic concept used here and combined different colours of clay to create the beads. With so many different designs though, my hands did get tired after a while and Chris jumped in to help. So after making the beads, they need to be baked in the oven for about 30 minutes at the temperature indicated on the packed (I think the Fimio one I used was 100 degrees Celsius). The best way to keep the beads in shape, and to ensure that there is a hole to work with when they are done, is to put a toothpick through the balls and stick the end of the tooth picks in a ball of tinfoil. The beads came off easily when they were done as well.

To make the necklaces, I used a whole lot of wooden beads. My dad was working in Brasil when we were younger, and when he came home to visit he would bring us new beads and things to try out (we were very into jewellery making back then), so I still have a large stock of beautiful wooden beads.

I also still have a left over container of probably about 40 polymer clay beads which I’ll need to find a use for. Seriously trying to finish off my started projects before I start new ones at the moment though.

DSCN0025 DSCN0026 DSCN0027 DSCN0028 DSCN0029 DSCN0024

Leave a Reply

