Seed saving: lettuce

10514547_10152482185030927_3618533333117788599_n

One thing I have really enjoyed having grow in our garden is lettuce. I think for the price of a head of lettuce, which maybe makes us 2 salads, I bought a tray of mixed lettuce at the beginning of summer. It lasted up until now! It was great that we could use some, let the plant recover a bit, and then use some more. It was almost sad to see them bolt and develop flowers. But I not have a new evening pass-time: Collecting the seeds.

Whatever varieties we have, the flowers are little yellow ones, and attract bees like it’s going out of fashion. Then when the plants are finished flowering, the buds close back up again. Wait a few days, especially after a good hot day it seems, and the buds open again which what seems to be a tiny dandelion. Pluck these out and let them dry out. It’s really that easy. At the moment I have a few little jars around my kitchen with the seeds and the fluff in them. I’m going to separate the seeds out and from the rest of the plant stuff and then store them in little plastic ziplock bags.

I’m not too sure how long i have to wait to use the seeds. I read up on rocket and they reckon that rocket seeds stay dormant for a little while and then start to grow. About a few months, and if you do successive sowings, you’ll always have enough seeds and enough plants growing. But I think I dropped enough of the lettuce seeds during my harvest that I’ll see little ones pocking up and then we’ll be good to plant again.

Leave a Reply

