Homemade Lemon Curd

The last few weeks have been a bit crazy. I’ve even been meaning to take pictures of the limoncello as it has been turning yellow, but I haven’t got to it. Good news is that it will be ready to drink next week. Good for a summer refresher.

So the by product from this experiment was lemon juice. A jar of it. So I needed to come up with a plan. With my birthday coming up, I decided to try my hand at lemon curd, that way we wouldn’t have to make icing for any cakes we decided to make (there were two cakes in the end :))

DSCN9795

The recipe that I used call for both the lemon juice and and the zest. All the zest was in the limoncello so I decided to leave it out. Very easy recipe really. 4 eggs, all of it (some recipes only use the yolk or add more yolks to whole eggs), 500g castor sugar, 125g butter and 3/4 cup of lemon juice. Now I was heavy handed on the lemon juice because we had so much, and I’m glad I was because it was delish!

DSCN9798

So the ingredients go into a medium heated pan and you keep stirring it until it’s boiling. Let it boil for a minute and then take it off the heat. Do not let it burn. That is vital. In the picture you can see that I’m busy sterilizing some bottles as well so that they were ready for the final product.

DSCN9800

And the final product has a beautiful yellow colour. Now apparently the Brits eat lemon curd on toast, but i’m not sure that’s for me. On a simple vanilla sponge cake it is just heaven. Sunshine in a bottle :). Once your refrigerate it, lemon curd can last or a month.

Leave a Reply

