A Weekend in the Kitchen: Homemade Guava Jam

DSCN2859 DSCN2860 DSCN2861

 

This past weekend, we spent some time in the kitchen again! We had a pile of veggie that we needed to make a plan with. That’s the one thing about ordering from these box schemes: you need to make a plan with veggies that you would never have bought before. Only last week I had a bag of baby artichoke hearts and I had to find a simple solution quickly.

So over the past two weeks, we accumulated a kilo of guavas. Now I like guava jam, but I’m not a fruit person in general. And even though Chris enjoys his fruit, these guavas were just sitting in the kitchen. Sadly, we’ve had a bag of these explode in the kitchen before, so we needed to come up with a plan.

So I started my research and tried to find something. I’d actually given up when I opened my Complete South African Cookbook and found a guava jam recipe. After mentioning this idea to Chris, it came out that he really like guava jam.

So I found a recipe on the internet, which had a lower sugar content in it than my traditional recipe (as we need to watch how much sugar Chris puts into his body). If you want to try it out, you can find it here.

It was a fairly easy recipe to make. preparing the guavas can take a rather long time, but otherwise was alright. It can just get messy if you add the blended guavas to a pot that is too hot. You’ve been warned!

Leave a Reply

