The Bottling Experiment: Beetroot, mango chutney and peppadews

IMG_9443 IMG_9444 IMG_9431 IMG_9433 IMG_9428

A few weekends ago we had a great day of experimentation. Chris set out to use our new slow cooker for the first time (and made an amazing Pork roast with apple gravy), while I took over our stove to set about trying my hand at pickling.

First up was the beetroot. I was rather nervous about this as I had been warned about the amount of mess it can make. However, I was surprised by how unmessy it really was. And this is coming from me who always manages to get some of the food I’m cooking on myself, or when painting the house I tend to have more paint on me than the wall does. But it was nice and clean. Granted, we do have a granite slate that we use in the kitchen, and it was so easy to clean afterwards. The recipe I used was a definite winner and I will be trying it again! You can view it here.

The next challenge was a mango chutney. Neither of us is a big fan of fresh mango, so I decided to adapt an apricot chutney recipe that I have in the most amazing cookbook I own, The Complete South African Cookbook. So first step was to remove the mango flesh from the pips. That along with 2 shallots and a handful of raisins went into a pot. Then half a cup of sugar, half a cup of spirit vinegar, half a teaspoon of salt, half a teaspoon of mustard powder and half a teaspoon of ground cumin. And you just boil it until it’s nice and shiny and then you bottle it. Voila!

Then the last one we did was pickled peppadews, one of Chris’s favorites. We were lucky enough to get a packet full from his sister, and the experiment began. For the non-South Africans, Peppadews are also know as sweet piquante peppers, and they are more sweet with a slight bite than hot. We are rather impressed with the results, especially as I did the easy bot of rinsing the peppers and creating the pickling sauce. Chris sat in front of the TV with an itchy nose he couldn’t scratch removing all the seeds. The recipe we used can be seen here.

2 comments

  1. Thanks again for the link back. So glad you enjoyed the recipe.
    Have a super day.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    1. Thank you for sharing it in the first place Mandy 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

