DIY Baby Booties, Bib and Jersey

PhotoGrid_1396615249135

These baby projects are ones that I finished a while ago. But they had to be posted up to a friend in Pretoria, so I’ve been waiting to hear that they arrived before I posted them.

I did mention that there would be another baby bib, as they were so much fun to make and they came out really nicely. I think I still have quite a bit to learn about binding, so will need to do some work on that before I do my next quilting/patchwork project, but otherwise I am rather impressed with myself. And I really did enjoy doing the embroidery work on these bibs as well. A simple chain stitch does give the letters a funky feel.

The booties have become almost second nature to me, as an of our friends who have babies get at least one knitted pair. I think Chris enjoyed these ones as well, as he had plenty to weigh in about what button to put on them. I definitely agree with his choice of the flowers over the hearts that I have at home.

This jersey has been an interesting journey. I started knitting it over a year and a half ago. I think that that’s even before the friend who received it was married and expecting. It’s been an on and off project for ages, for when I have felt that I had nothing to do. It was incredibly painful, because I used old bamboo needles to knit it, and I find that the tension on my stocking stitch is rather tight… but I was glad to hear that there was a baby girl on the way, and then finished it up to send along in the parcel.

Busy getting my sewing machine fixed so I can finally get to my t-shirt quilt that I cut up and fused about a year ago now. And the hundred-and-one other little sewing projects that I have going…

2 comments

  1. Those booties are so adorable ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Nice quick little project to do too!

Leave a Reply

