The green bean experiment

DSCN2748DSCN2754DSCN2752 

So my green beans are the first veggie that I have started to experiment with. They are now three weeks old. When I say “they” I mean “it”… 1 of the initial batch survived. I’m glad I decided to plant 3 more a week after the first 3. One of those have survived too. So now I have planted another 2, so let’s hope these lovely things come up. It seems that a bird or something must have ate my beans, cos they are no where to be seem…

Anyway, these are great veggies to plant if you enjoy seeing immediate results. We are taking a bit of a risk planting them this late in the summer, but with the current heat wave, I think we will be just fine. Germination period is 7 to 14 days, they need full sun for at least 6 hours of the day and they love moist soil. Apparently, we will be able to harvest at about day 44. Can’t wait!

They are going to need to be planted in the garden soon with some dell sticks to offer them some support.

Leave a Reply

